BALL – Verstappen wins «sprint» and keeps «pope» in Imola (Formula 1)

Max Verstappen won the first sprint race of 2022 in the Formula 1 World Cup and combined an 8-point victory in the pole position in the Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix, the 4th round of the championship, which will also be held tomorrow at Enzo and Dino Ferrari from Imola, starting at 2 p.m.

Verstappen, who secured his pile in yesterday’s time trial, lost control of Charles Leclerc, second in the starting grid, immediately after the start, but the Red Bull driver always kept his Ferrari rival “under his eye” and on the 20th for 21 laps. 4,909 km from Imola returned to 1st place and kept it until the checkered flag.

In the back, Sergio Pérez (Red Bull) took advantage of the sprint to correct the previous day’s bad time trial and recovered from 7th place to 3. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Ferrari), an even more lucrative race as he started in 10th place and finished fourth. And so tomorrow, two Red Bulls and two Ferraris in the first two rows of the starting grid.

Mercedes, Japan’s worst time trial since 2012, added another disappointment when George Russell didn’t improve from 11th place and Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) overtook Lewis Hamilton and dropped from 13th to 14th place.

Sprint classification and Emilia-Romagna GP starting table:

1. Max Verstappen, Red Bull-RBPT, 30.39.567 m

2. Charles Leclerc, Ferrari, +2,975 s

3. Sergio Pérez, Red Bull-RBPT, +4.721 s

4. Carlos Sainz Jr., Ferrari, +17,578 s

5. Lando Norris, McLaren-Mercedes, +24,561 p

6. Daniel Ricciardo, McLaren-Mercedes, +27,740 s

7. Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, +28,133 p

8. Kevin Magnussen, Haas-Ferrari, +30 712 p

9. Fernando Alonso, Alpine-Renault, +32,278 s

10. Mick Schumacher, Haas-Ferrari, +38 773 p

11. George Russell, Mercedes, +36 284 p

12. Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri-RBPT, +38 298 s

13. Sebastian Vettel, Aston Martin-Mercedes, +40,177 p

14. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, +41 459 p

15. Lance Stroll, Aston Martin-Mercedes, +42 910 s

16. Esteban Ocon, Alpine-Renault +43 517 s

17. Pierre Gasly. AlphaTauri-RBPT, +43 794 s

18. Alexander Albon, Williams-Mercedes, +48 871 p

19. Nicholas Latifi. Williams-Mercedes, +52.017 s

20. Zhou Guanyu, Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, retired

Leave a Comment